Happy Anniversary to Us!

Today marks the major accomplishment of our one year anniversary!  Yahoo!!!  In the spirit of the 9th of December, I thought I would take a moment to share nine things that I have learned from my husband.  Let’s face it, he is pretty darn easy to love and I am crazy about him, like giddy, butterflies-in-my-stomach, silly, happy, goofy laughing CRAZY!  He is perfect…for me.
IMG_2168

1.  Make careful choices about who you will give your energy to.
There are some people who really know how to push my buttons.  Sadly, I am the only one who knows they are pushing them!  They are oblivious to the fact that they have gotten under my skin.  My babe reminds me that I can choose how to react to their shenanigans even though I can’t control their behaviors.  This is a simple lesson that’s taking me a while to master.  What can I say, I’m a work in progress.

2.  Always do what is right.
My sweet hubby is such a great person.  Even when someone has wronged him, made him mad, or said something mean to him, he will say, “I won’t let them determine the kind of person I am going to be.”  I swear he is a saint.

3.  Reverse the situation.
I happen to have a tough time putting myself in someone else’s shoes.  I did not know I had this issue, but I have to face it…I do.  And I’m learning to reverse situations in order to put things into perspective when I just can’t see past myself.  My Love is great at this game and with him as my teammate, I’ll get better at this.

4.  Talk about everything.
He is my life partner, my partner-in-crime, my best friend, my true love….and to make sure we are 100% playing for the same team I have had to learn to share.  (I was an only child for 14 years until my sis came along so I’m not real good at sharing!)

5.  Be silent.
So, after I’ve finished doing all that talking, he has also taught me how important silence is.  I remind him that he asked for me to share everything (love you babe!), but I am learning that silence can be beneficial too.  Silence gives you an opportunity to learn a lot about the person you are communicating with.

6.  Take a moment to breathe.
Life gets chaotic.  Jobs, kids, family, pets, house, cars, life…we all have so much going on every day.  We like to take several minutes every day to just enjoy some quiet time and just breathe.

7.  Pay attention to people.
You know that show The Mentalist?  Well, that’s my husband.  He’s The Mentalist.  There’s a good chance he hypnotized me into writing this post.  He truly is the most perceptive person I have ever met in my life.  He always says reading people is easy, you just have to pay attention (probably why #5 is such an important lesson too!)

8.  Don’t sweat the small stuff.
I am a huge control freak.  Yeah, I said it.  Here it is in writing.  My dreamboat of a husband tolerates this to a point and when he has reached his max he will just tell me politely, “Honey, it just doesn’t matter.”  Totally blows the wind out of my over-reacting sails but I get it.  And I try my darndest to move on to my next issue.

9.  Count to 10.
Before making a quick decision that you may second-guess or even regret, count to 10.  There’s that silence at work again.  Chances are you’ll make a more fair decision.

Leave a Reply

