Message from Heaven

We lost our dear sweet Phoebe almost two weeks ago.  She was a sweetheart of a pup that I had for over 16 years and this family quickly adopted her as their own.  That dreaded day when old age just got the best of her was a sad day for all of us.

Yesterday, Jessa was busy playing in her room but bounded downstairs at one point and said, “I got a message from Heaven!  It’s from Phoebe.  Do you want to hear it?”  Knowing how darling Jessa can be I just said, “Is it going to make me cry?”  That was more to prepare her for the tears that were sure to be shed in the next few moments.  And, as if on cue, they started almost immediately.  So here is Jessa’s message from Phoebe who only recently joined doggie heaven…

When tommorow starts without me
and I’m not there to see
if the sun should rise and find your eyes
filled with tears for me

I wish so much wouldn’t cry
the way you did today
while think of many things
we didn’t get to say

I know how much you love me
as much as I love you
and each time you think of me
I know you’ll miss me too

When tomorrow starts without me
don’t think we’re far apart
for every time you think of me
I’m right there in your heart.

I know she adapted this from something she read, but the consideration she shows towards others overwhelms me.  What a thoughtful child.  Anyone besides me need a tissue?

Leave a Reply

